sunny side up

 

Hello life!  What a great week I’ve been having.  This could possibly be the best week I’ve had in months.  In fact, I think it is.  The sun is shining, I have butterflies in my stomach, and you literally cannot wipe the smile off my face.  My room is clean, my finances are in order, I’m running farther, faster, better.  A few days ago, a handful of family members and I signed up for the Get Lucky 7K that falls on St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s put on by Team Ortho and I have to say, so far they have got their sh*t together.  The packet pickup was flawless.  The sweatshirt zip-up is super comfy and well designed.  The end-of-the-race medal looks awesome and there are free drinks at Kieran’s Pub afterwards.  I’m contemplating doing the SeaWheeze Half Marathon again in August (Vancouver, BC) – but haven’t quite decided and registration isn’t open yet.  I’m enjoying running for the sake of running.  The health benefits, the leg muscles… signing up for too many races makes me nervous.  Maybe I’m raced out?  We’ll see.  First race registered for the 2013 season, complete!

I finished Bad Things Happen (don’t recommend it!) and I have started reading The Council of Dads (holy crap it’s good!).  I’m shooting to read at least a book a month – falling back into this favorite past time of losing myself in a story.

The self-help book that I have been reading on and off spoke to a funny concept.  The author talks about finishing difficult tasks that she has procrastinated completing.  A way to slow down and power thru them was to “put yourself in jail”.  “I’m in jail”, she would tell herself, “I’m locked up with nowhere to go and nothing to do except the task in front of me.  It doesn’t matter how long it takes, I have all the time I could possibly need.”  It is a little mindset to put yourself in.  I love it.  I sometimes do the same trick.  Time eventually catches up to me – but it works for a little while!

There is a challenge I’ve undertaken recently, I’ll blog about it soon once it gets underway.  A chance to travel the world for… nothing.  Well, almost nothing.  There are systems and rewards tiers in place that have yet to be tapped!  I’m educating myself as we speak – stay tuned.  Maybe I can get you interested, too.  Spending a week in the Bora Bora water-bungalows anyone?

All I know is living optimistically is the way to go.  A deep breath, a sense of self-worth and confidence… knowing that if you keep your face always toward the sunshine, the shadows will fall behind you.

xo

oliver sun worshipper

 

 

Added to wishlist.

Listening to.

Noshing on.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “sunny side up

  1. lancehill710 says:

    Excellent Blog, glad you’re feeling the love of life! Let’s visit tomorrow on the award wallet, off to mexican with mom and Kac’s dad

Leave a Reply

