a recap of semi-awesome proportions

I wasn’t prepared for the random week that I’ve had.  But I’m healthy and happy and I won’t complain.

A friend of mine told me about this company she has a subscription with, called IPSY.  Ten bucks a month gets you a little makeup bag of different products and brands to try.  Now, if you know me, you’ll know I’m not a very high maintenance girl.  Give me a hair binder, a lip chap (or six), some Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Shampoo, and I can conquer the world.  But, I decided to expand my horizons and try some different products on the market.  Maybe I’ll find some I like.  Yesterday I got my January bag.  Inside was, Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Body Butter (so luxuriously smooth!), bigsexyhair spray & play volumizing hairspray (va-voom!), nailtini nail polish in bloody mary (holy red!), Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil (makes my hair shiny like diamonds!) and a SOHO eyeliner brush.

I’m about to broaden my horizons in the realm of cosmetics.  And if I don’t like something, well… that’s what best friends are for right?

photo 2

After many long months of waiting… one of my Kickstarter rewards has arrived!  Jake Parker is a phenomenal artist.  His goal was to design and publish a book with the help of crowd funding.  Behold, the hard cover that I’m so excited to flip through.  He did a great job and it’s super exiting to see a project that you’ve backed, sitting right in front of you!  Check out more of his work on his website.  I heard his original intent was to his stories bound in a book for his kids to read…  adorable.

photo 1

The crazier part of the last few days is that I had jury duty this week.  For real.  It was very, VERY anticlimactic.  I sat in one room for 8 hours at a time – and read a seriously funny book that I highly recommend.  So wait, I got paid to read a book?  Well, yes, work pays me to go to jury duty… and there is compensation from the county for my “duty”, to the tune of about $10 each day… hardly covers parking downtown.

Isn’t there a better system for this?  Instead of 80 people sitting, waiting, in silence, to be called (and only about 15 did), couldn’t we be on-call?  And if you need someone, then I will leave what I’m doing and go to the courthouse?  It seemed like a lot of man hours gone to waste.  Let’s hope I never have to do that again.  And if I do get summoned, I’m crossing my fingers I get chosen for a super high-profile murder trial and then sequestered.  I would love a series of free nights stay at a swanky hotel downtown and fresh grilled salmon each night. A queen sized bed all to myself with sheets of egyptian cotton? Room service? Hot showers that can last for twenty minutes? Sign me up! k thanks bye!

go live your life,
xo

Adding to my wishlist
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

