and then there was one

My silent grandma passed away this morning.

Slowly she went from talking (albeit quietly) and then no words… and then no eating… and silence. My grandpa has been such a lover through this whole journey. He didn’t want her to stay in the hospital. He wanted to be the one to care for her and feed her at home. It was straight out of The Notebook. If I have any wish for myself, it’s that I end up with someone that is willing to take care of me until the very end. Until the absolute last breath.

I don’t know how he will start to rebuild a life for himself as an individual, being able to take time to go fishing like he used to… and leave the apartment for longer than a quick errand. He has earned a long walk in the park, to ponder and breathe deeply while missing the love of his life.

If there is anything I’ve learned about the situation with Grandma Rosie these past few months, it’s that you absolutely must say what you want to say, and have those conversations you are scared to have, before it’s too late. Who knows when someone will lose their voice? When they cannot respond or express how they are feeling? Communication is so important, and I’ve learned that now. I get it.

Share your thoughts and feelings with your loved ones, before you no longer can.

Cheers to Rosie,
xo

Listening to.
Adding to the wish list.
Munching on.

photo

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “and then there was one

  1. JUNE HILL says:

    That was so beautiful! Be sure and keep a copy of this… In fact, I hope you are scrap booking all of them!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

