Scottsdale bound

Tonight I took a super late flight to Scottsdale for the weekend.  Time for a little R&R with some close girlfriends.  I’ve been out there many times and always come back feeling refreshed, renewed, with my core body temperature slightly out of sync in the red zone.  I have miles on Delta (more on that later) and booked a flight to the tune of 25,000 miles + $7.50 in taxes.

Knowing I paid the ticket taxes with my Gold Delta SkyMiles Credit Card, means I have one free checked bag.  I decided to pack more than enough into a larger than necessary bag.  A girl likes to have options, 3 swimsuits for 4 days?  I think so!  I found my seat in the back of the plane and smiled to myself as I set eyes on my seat mates.  Both younger girls wearing yoga pants.  With a thankful sigh of relief, I scooted into my window seat.  Nine times out of ten, I have someone pushing 3 bills and reeking of cheap beer sitting next to me.  Flying takes on a whole new adventurous tone when you aren’t sure if the dude next to you is either going to try to hit on you or throw up in your lap.  Not pleasant.  I enjoyed not having a sweaty, hairy thigh pushed up against my personal leg space.  I enjoyed the camaraderie of using Apple products with competent, smart, healthy girls doing the same next to me.  Call me crazy, but that never happens and I was thankful.  As I was sitting in me seat, I watched my luggage roll up the conveyor belt underneath me into the plane.  That’s always a good sign.  The journey is off to a good start.

photo 1

Katie picks me up from the airport where I’m instantly sweating on the sidewalk.  This is going to be a test of strength and effort to not literally melt while I’m here.  No one likes a puddle!  We drive back to her apartment in Scottsdale and I haul my 44-lb luggage into the room I’ll be staying in while I’m here.  The AC is a blessing and I have a feeling we’ll be spending quite a bit of time near the pool.  Go for a run, jump in the pool.  Lunch date, then jump in the pool.

photo 2

This morning we woke up and had iced coffee + Rumchata – a true start to vacation.  Cheers to a hot, sweaty, adventurous-weekend!

Life is good!

xo,

Listening to this.

Current temperature in Scottsdale at 7:55 AM : 86 F

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Scottsdale bound

  1. Gina says:

    Sounds like you are in for a really great trip! I’m always a big fan of taking several short vacations throughout the year; you get to see more! And, score on the airline ticket! I’m trying to let my miles rack up right now but they are tempting…

  2. sandracasey says:

    I lived in Wadell AZ for 3.5 years and I love Scottsdale! It’s so fun! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

